Branding, PR, Social Media

How do You Do Social? Lauren O Lauren

Lauren Dunn: Social Media Darling, owner of blog & YouTube channel Lauren O Lauren.com

With over 5,000 subscribers on YouTube and 8,000 Facebook friends, Lauren has been able to build a loyal fan base with whom she interacts with daily. Lauren not yet thirty, has been working in the media industry since she was 17 years old. With the success of her televion show on Jamaica’s cable tv station Flow 100, Lauren has been able to continue her connection with her audience even after moving to the US with the help of social media. She’s charismatic, bold and fashion forward. What makes Lauren unique is her ability to not just do a fashion feature but encourage her viewers to read books like “Damn Good Advice” by George Lois and find their life’s purpose. She tweets her  random thoughts, world views and quirky ideas to her 6,200 twitter followers and she’s not afraid of being vulnerable, daring  and at times — downright funny.

Here’s Lauren’s take on her social media success:

“Social Media has not only helped my career but in a large respect is responsible for the continuation of it. I started out on television but because of social media I was able to reach a broader audience and maintain the ones I had reached on television. TV shows don’t run forever,so during off season or when I’m not filming I can still keep my fan base close and keep them thoroughly entertained.”

What advice would you give others on using  social media to build their careers?

“If you’re trying to make a name for yourself the best way to do that is by NOT trying to make a name for yourself. Just do what it is that you do and do it better than anyone else can, even if it means spending more time getting it done than others in your field or doing over and over again. Let your work speak for you before you know it your name will build on its own. Be different than mainstream, mainstream is great but it’s easy to fall in line. I don’t go out of my way to stand out but I have realized that regardless of what I do or say I do stand out, my views and opinions have never been inline with the general public and that has been my claim to fame. Being yourself and being able to stand your ground is very important there will be days when you are the only person in the world who believes in your dreams.”

Go check out Lauren’s blog . She showcases fashionistas every Tuesday. Follow her on twitter @LaurenoLauren and Instagram @LaurenoLauren. Send your Fashionable pictures to show@laurenolauren.com

Standard

One thought on “How do You Do Social? Lauren O Lauren

  1. Chris L says:

    Great Article.. I found it to be very useful…For me, Social media is very important to the success of your brand (or business). In particular, Facebook has been able to give me an unprecedented reach… made my life a lot easier!

Leave a Reply

